What to Read if You Love YA Contemporary

For somebody who proclaims they don’t read much of this genre; I sure to read a lot of it. Don’t get me wrong; my Read ratio is still largely dominated by YA fantasy, but I didn’t realise how many of my absolute faves were YA contemporary. This listicle includes a list of my favourite YA contemporaries, from thrillers to romance! So if you think you’re not really into YA contemporary (maybe a famous NYT Best Selling Author ruined it for you) or you’re super keen for some new recs, be ready to see, what I think, are the Top 5 contemporaries in YA fiction.

 

Far From YouRank 5: Far From You by Tess Sharpe

Why it’s a favourite:

  • Bi/lesbian recognition (however there’s the unfortunate token/trope that one of the gay kids is killed).
  • Unpredictable murderer.
  • Thematic discussions on teen drug abuse.

These three are pretty hard to find in a decent YA book, so I was thrilled when I first read it.

 

 

Rank 4: Black Ice by Becca FitzpatrickBlack Ice

I know what you’re thinking, “Really, Cal? ANOTHER list that mentions Black Ice… AGAIN?!?”

Sue me. It’s a stellar book, and I will continue to reference all and any quality books from my short-lifespan of reading.

Why it’s a favourite:

  • Four majorly developed characters.
  • The Best Thriller Cal Has Ever Read™ .
  • Such a soap-opera, but amazing plot twists over and over.

My Black Ice Review

 

10264464Rank 3: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Why it’s a favourite:

  • It’s most festive book to read on a wonderfully chilly night.
  • You’ll be in a fit of giggles from all the wacky clues they leave for each other.
  • Probably the strangest book you’ll read with a short word count.

If you haven’t heard me rave about this book before, here’s a mini update: a girl wants a friend. She sets a diary in a bookstore c. December, NYC. A boy finds it, and carries on with the clues. They’ve never met, but they both do little dares that the other leaves in the mutual journal.

 

Rank 2: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie PerkinsAnna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

Why it’s a favourite:

  • I gobbled it up in a day (which is usual for me, but I took my time with it)
  • It makes you cry
  • Let’s just say, I’ve never been interested by French culture, and then this book made me ADORE the nation!

This book is an absolute fluff piece written by the Queen of Super Sweet Teen Romances.

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2) Review

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss #3) Review

 

The Upside of UnrequitedRank 1: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

As I previously mentioned, this is one of my all-time faaaavourite books of 2017. As well as my favourite YA contemporary.

Why it’s a favourite:

  • allllllllllll the representation
  • DIVERSITY
  • actual quirky characters that aren’t inadvertently pretentious John Green…

 

So there you have it! I hope you enjoyed my recs.

 

Leave a comment telling me your favourite YA Contemporaries. 

3 thoughts on “What to Read if You Love YA Contemporary

  1. I started Upside a while back while at home on a break from college (where I have literally no friends) and I got 25 pages in before deciding I needed to go take a long shower and cry. The friendships in it were just too good and it made me sad that I didn’t have anyone like that at home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s